• Avant Doctor in Training Research Scholarship Program

  • Applications for 2016 are now closed

  • Congratulations to all the 2016 Avant Doctor in Training Research Scholarship recipients!

    We received a record number of high quality applications and 20 outstanding young doctors have been awarded research scholarships and grants-in-aid worth $425,000 under the Avant Doctors in Training Research Scholarship Program to undertake innovative research.

  • Planning is underway for the 2017 Avant Doctor in Training Scholarship Program. Applications open February 2017

  • This year's recipients

    Advancement in Medicine category

    Full time:

    • Dr Genevieve Oliver (NSW)
    • Dr Phoebe Williams (NSW)
    • Dr Rahul Muthalaly (VIC)

    Part time:

    • Dr Joseph Dusseldorp (NSW)
    • Dr Kazauki Negishi (TAS)
    • Dr Pedro Guio Aguilar (VIC)


    • Dr Alexander Olaussen (VIC)
    • Dr Michelle Sun (SA)
    • Dr Chris Lim (VIC)
    • Dr Susannah Ward (NSW)
    • Dr Rochelle Ryan (QLD)

    Quality in Medicine category

    Part time:

    • Dr Emily Fitzpatrick (NSW)
    • Dr May Wong (NSW)


    • Dr Ammar Kheir (QLD)
    • Dr Benjamin Lazarus (QLD)
    • Dr Felix Ng (VIC)
    • Dr Malcolm Forbes (VIC)
    • Dr Ramy Bishay (NSW)
    • Dr Samuel Davies (NSW)
    • Dr Clement Lee (NSW)
  • Meet our past recipients


    2015 recipients


    Advancement of Medicine category:

    • Dr Abhishek Sharma, QLD (Grant in aid, Surgery category)
    • Dr Thomas Ward, ACT (Grant in aid, Surgery category)
    • Dr Kerina Denny, QLD (Grant in aid, Medicine category)
    • Dr Jenny Lauschke, NSW (Grant in aid, Community Medicine and Paediatrics category)
    • Dr Sophie Liang, NSW (Grant in aid, Anaesthesia, perioperative and pain medicine category)

    Quality, Safety and Risk Management category: