Avant Insurance Board

  • The primary function of the Avant Insurance Board is to focus on the insurance business which offers insurance products to members of Avant Mutual Group Limited (Avant). Avant Insurance Limited is the licensed insurer of Avant. The Avant Insurance Board comprises a highly experienced team of directors with broad experience in the insurance and financial services sectors. The directors on the Insurance Board are:

  • Mr Peter Polson (Chair)

    Mr Peter Polson
    BCom, MBL, PMD

    Mr Polson is a Director of AMGL and AGHL and is the Chair of AIL. He has an extensive background in banking, insurance and financial services. He was formerly Managing Director of Colonial First State Investments, and with the Commonwealth Bank Group as Group Executive responsible for all Investment and Insurance Services. Mr Polson is the current Chairman of the Board of Challenger Financial Services Group Limited, Challenger Life Limited, IDP Education Pty Limited and the Chairman of Very Special Kids.

    Special responsibilities: Chair of the Group Investment Committee, member of the Remuneration Committee and the Nominations Committee.

  • Mr Peter Beck

    Mr Peter Beck 

    Mr Beck is a Director of AMGL, AGHL and AIL. Mr Beck is an actuary by profession and has over 30 years’ experience in banking, insurance, superannuation and investments working in Australia, New Zealand, Asia, South Africa and the United Kingdom. He was formerly CEO of Pillar Administration, CEO of CommInsure, and Group General Manager, Strategic Development and Group Appointed Actuary at Colonial.

    Special responsibilities: Chair of the Risk Committee, Chair of the Audit Committee and member of the Group Investment Committee.

  • Mr Tony Bofinger

    Mr Tony Bofinger

    Mr Bofinger is a Director of AIL. Mr Bofinger is an actuary with over 30 years’ experience in life insurance, superannuation and investment, and he has expertise in risk management, capital management and finance. He is currently Chief Risk Officer of Challenger Limited, and was previously Appointed Actuary and Chief Financial Officer of Challenger Life Company Limited. Prior to that he held a range of executive positions in direct insurance, reinsurance and consulting.

    Special responsibilities: Member of the Audit Committee and the Risk Committee.

  • Mr Andrew Boldeman

    Mr Andrew Boldeman
    BEc, FIAA 

    Mr Andrew Boldeman is the Managing Director of the Avant Mutual Group, and a Director of AIL and DHF. He is a fellow of the Institute of Actuaries of Australia. He is a former CEO of the Group Life division of TAL (formerly Tower Australia), Australia’s largest life insurer. Other previous positions include TAL’s Chief Actuary and leadership roles at management consultancy Tillinghast Towers Perrin and at AMP.

    Special responsibilities: Managing Director of the Avant Mutual Group

  • The Hon John Fahey

    The Hon John Fahey AC

    The Hon John Fahey is a Director of AMGL, AGHL and AIL, and is the Chair of DHF. He was the Premier of NSW for three years, and then Federal Minister for Finance and Administration (1996-2001). Prior to Parliament, he practised as a solicitor. In 2002 he was awarded a Companion in the Order of Australia. He was appointed President of the World Anti-Doping Authority in 2007, a position he held until the end of 2013. In 2014, he was appointed as Chancellor of the Australian Catholic University. He is the current Chair of the Sydney Olympic Park Authority.

    Special responsibilities: Chair of The Doctors’ Health Fund Pty Ltd. Member of the Group Investment Committee and the Remuneration Committee.

  • Mr Bruce Foy

    Mr Bruce Foy
    BCom, LLB, FAICD

    Mr Foy is a Director of AGHL, AIL and DHF. Mr Foy was admitted as a Barrister of the Supreme Court of NSW in 1989, and is a fellow of the Institute of Company Directors. Mr Foy is a professional non-executive director, being on a number of public and private boards.

    Special responsibilities: Member of the Risk Committee and the Audit Committee.

  • Dr Beverley Rowbotham

    Associate Professor Beverley Rowbotham

    Associate Professor Rowbotham is the Chair of AMGL and AGHL and is a Director of AIL, DHF and the Avant Foundation. She is Director of Haematology and a member of the Executive Advisory Committee at Sullivan Nicolaides Pathology. She is the Chair of the AMA Federal Council, the National Pathology Accreditation Advisory Committee and is a past President of the Royal College of Pathologists of Australasia. Dr Rowbotham is an Associate Professor at the University of Queensland, and is a member of the MBS Review Taskforce and other government committees. Dr Rowbotham is a fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. She is a Director of RCPA Quality Assurance Programs Pty Limited, AEIOU Foundation for children with autism and Genome One.

    Special responsibilities: Director of Avant Foundation Limited and The Doctors’ Health Fund Pty Ltd. Member of the Remuneration Committee and Nominations Committee.

  • Mr Duncan West

    Mr Duncan West
    ANZIIF (Snr Assoc.), CIP, FCII, BSc (Econ), GAICD 

    Mr West is a Director of AGHL and AIL. He has over 30 years’ experience in general and life insurance. He has worked in the UK, India and Australia including as CEO of Vero Insurance and CGU Insurance. Most recently he was Executive General Manager of Retail Wealth for NAB. Mr West holds a Graduate Diploma in Business, and a Bachelor of Science in Economics. He is a Fellow of the Chartered Insurance Institute.

    Special responsibilities: Chair of the Remuneration Committee and member of the Nominations Committee, the Risk Committee and the Audit Committee.

  • Prof Simon Willcock

    Professor Simon Willcock

    Professor Willcock is a Director of AMGL, AGHL, AIL and DHF. Previously Professor Willcock was the the Chair of AMGL and AGHL. He is a General Practitioner who has worked in both rural and urban NSW. Professor Willcock is currently the Director of Primary Care at Macquarie University Hospital, and his educational and research interests include musculoskeletal medicine, the health of doctors and generational change in the medical workforce. In 2013, Professor Willcock was inducted into the AMA’s Roll of Fellows, in recognition of his contribution to the medical profession. Professor Willcock is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

    Special responsibilities: Chair of the Nominations Committee and member of the Remuneration Committee.

  • Avant Submissions