Doctors' Health Fund

  • The Doctors’ Health Fund is a registered private health insurer, committed to implementing high standards of corporate governance. The Doctors’ Health Fund Board comprises a highly experienced team of directors with broad experience in the insurance and financial services sectors.


  • The Hon John Fahey AC (Chair)

    The Hon John Fahey AC

    The Hon John Fahey is a Director of AMGL, AGHL and AIL, and is the Chair of DHF. He was the Premier of NSW for three years, and then Federal Minister for Finance and Administration (1996-2001). Prior to Parliament, he practised as a solicitor. In 2002 he was awarded a Companion in the Order of Australia. He was appointed President of the World Anti-Doping Authority in 2007, a position he held until the end of 2013. In 2014, he was appointed as Chancellor of the Australian Catholic University. He is the current Chair of the Sydney Olympic Park Authority.

    Special responsibilities: Chair of The Doctors’ Health Fund Pty Ltd. Member of the Group Investment Committee and the Remuneration Committee.

  • Mr Andrew Boldeman

    Mr Andrew Boldeman
    BEc, FIAA 

    Mr Andrew Boldeman is the Managing Director of the Avant Mutual Group, and a Director of AIL and DHF. He is a fellow of the Institute of Actuaries of Australia. He is a former CEO of the Group Life division of TAL (formerly Tower Australia), Australia’s largest life insurer. Other previous positions include TAL’s Chief Actuary and leadership roles at management consultancy Tillinghast Towers Perrin and at AMP.

    Special responsibilities: Managing Director of the Avant Mutual Group

  • Mr Bruce Foy

    Mr Bruce Foy
    BCom, LLB, FAICD

    Mr Foy is a Director of AGHL, AIL and DHF. Mr Foy was admitted as a Barrister of the Supreme Court of NSW in 1989, and is a fellow of the Institute of Company Directors. Mr Foy is a professional non-executive director, being on a number of public and private boards.

    Special responsibilities: Member of the Risk Committee and the Audit Committee.

  • Dr Beverley Rowbotham

    Associate Professor Beverley Rowbotham

    Associate Professor Rowbotham is the Chair of AMGL and AGHL and is a Director of AIL, DHF and the Avant Foundation. She is Director of Haematology and a member of the Executive Advisory Committee at Sullivan Nicolaides Pathology. She is the Chair of the AMA Federal Council, the National Pathology Accreditation Advisory Committee and is a past President of the Royal College of Pathologists of Australasia. Dr Rowbotham is an Associate Professor at the University of Queensland, and is a member of the MBS Review Taskforce and other government committees. Dr Rowbotham is a fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. She is a Director of RCPA Quality Assurance Programs Pty Limited, AEIOU Foundation for children with autism and Genome One.

    Special responsibilities: Director of Avant Foundation Limited and The Doctors’ Health Fund Pty Ltd. Member of the Remuneration Committee and Nominations Committee.

  • Professor Simon Willcock

    Professor Simon Willcock

    Professor Willcock is a Director of AMGL, AGHL, AIL and DHF. Previously Professor Willcock was the the Chair of AMGL and AGHL. He is a General Practitioner who has worked in both rural and urban NSW. Professor Willcock is currently the Director of Primary Care at Macquarie University Hospital, and his educational and research interests include musculoskeletal medicine, the health of doctors and generational change in the medical workforce. In 2013, Professor Willcock was inducted into the AMA’s Roll of Fellows, in recognition of his contribution to the medical profession. Professor Willcock is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

    Special responsibilities: Chair of the Nominations Committee and member of the Remuneration Committee.

  • Doctors' Health Fund. Find out more