Members vote to re-elect existing doctor directors in a strong year for Avant

Nov 24, 2017

Following another strong year for Avant members have voted to re-elect Dr Jan Dudley and Dr Steven Hambleton to the Mutual Board.

“This year, 9 high quality candidates offered themselves for election to the Mutual Board and I would like to thank them all for putting themselves forward for election,” said Professor Simon Willcock, Chairperson of Avant Mutual Group

“I am very pleased that Dr Jan Dudley and Dr Steven Hambleton have been re-elected – they have both made very valuable contributions in their previous terms and I know that they will continue to do so.”

Avant has had another strong year with more than 6,700 new members taking out medical indemnity protection. We now provide indemnity cover to 75,500 healthcare professionals and medical students.

Our primary focus is of course to defend and support our members who may experience a wide range of stressful adverse events including complaints, litigation, investigations, employment and training disputes, and a range of other negative experiences that distract them from their crucial clinical work.

Members have accessed more support services than ever. 2016-17 saw 20,000 phone calls into our Medico-legal Advisory Service, nearly double what it was a few years ago and 8,500 notifications of new, actual or potential claims being made against our members.

As the needs of our members evolve, so do our services. 2017 has seen us introduce yet more services, products and educational resources to support our members.

“Members also passed the special resolution to amend the Avant Mutual Constitution at the Annual General Meeting. We consider that these amendments reflect contemporary good corporate governance for a mutual organisation,” said Professor Willcock.

The changes to the Constitution include changes to director term, fit and proper and tenure requirements for directors, and introducing the concept of a Board Election Committee.

The full Avant Mutual Board consists of Voting Member Directors: Professor Simon Willcock, Dr Jan Dudley, Dr William Glasson, Dr Steve Hambleton, Dr Beverley Rowbotham and Dr Douglas Travis, and appointed Non-Member Directors Mr Peter Beck, The Hon John Fahey and Mr Peter Polson.

Share your view

We welcome your feedback on this article – email the Editor at: